3 months

Today marks 3 months alcohol-free. I’m attending meetings weekly, listening to podcasts about about addiction and other stuff, and reading daily. I’m exercising–mostly walking, light weightlifting & stretching…taking supplements, drinking water and eating stuff that feeds my body & brain (well mostly, with the occasional divergence to fast food or pasta). And I try to remember to drink enough water every day.

I’m already at least a million times more productive and happy with work. And I sleep through the night most nights.

This is my second “go” at living alcohol-free. The first time lasted almost 3 years. A few things I’m doing differently now:

  1. I’m leveraging all of my resources like meetings, church, podcasts, reading, friends, and therapy.
  2. I’m not trying to figure it all out right now. Questions like: Is alcoholism a disease? Do I have to label myself? I can figure these out later, or never. All I know is that alcohol is not for me.
  3. I’m taking my physical health seriously, but not obessively so. Physical healing is important–Eating mostly veggies, beans, potatoes, seafood and meat, I feel balanced and strong.

I’m grateful to feel free and hopeful. Already so much better.

Jen

4 thoughts on “3 months

Leave a comment